Title:Moonlight on the Post Apocalyptic Dinner Theater

ACT 3

Setting– a hot,dusty, smog laden afternoon. A man in worn, weathered white robes and a battered dark hat drives a horse and cart through a moderately sized village.
He pulls up to the front of the inn, where the innkeeper, a large, bald, middle aged man, is standing.

The inn is well guarded by large men with machine guns positioned strategically around the complex, and has the only visible greenery on the street in the form of some shrub and flowering trees in the front. It appears as a cool oasis in the smoldering heat, and indeed, it boasts a a rare well and an even rarer pool of water in a shaded fountain.

The Merchant:
I have traveled far to hawk my good wares
over many and meandering ways
And across many wearisome long miles
through dark, wretched lands bereft of smiles
This inn looks a pleasant place to take rest
So I will stop here, at my own behest.

The Innkeeper:
You, sir, could not have made a sager choice
My inn’s bill of fare is my proudest boast
Rest well and be easy and then at ten
My bright jester appears, to entertain.
His fame for wit is quite notorious
I think you’ll find him most uproarious.

The Merchant:
I mainly want a quiet place to sleep
beyond a ruthless cutthroat’s easy reach
You have some repute for security
I have lost my taste for hilarity
somewhere in the total war’s confusion
When levity was not in profusion.

The Innkeeper:
All of us have partaken of sorrow
and stood in dread of a new tomorrow
Loathing the rising of the careless sun
revealing what thoughtless people have done
To flagrantly lose in a week of war
A vast planet’s stored health with no succor
Yet still we now must learn again to smile
if we will still exist here for a while
For bitterness does not raise from the dead
to life and make again the ravished weld.

The Merchant:
It is settled then, so here I will stay
In the morning rested and on my way
But tell me more about this bright jester?
Is he the sort to rant and to pester?
I ask this because I would like to stress
I would not be made even more depressed.

The Innkeeper:

The Jester merely speaks about the day
and events occurring along the way
between the break of dawn through midnight long
Usually in a genial way.

It is so rare for one so amusing
in post apocalyptic confusion
to have survived and still be willing to
give entertainment for the living few.
What else can you lose? If you’re offended
Go off to bed, and be well defended
All the guests here who entrust to my care
Have never yet had to afright bewared
The food here is as good or still better
than any inn left in this vast desert.
It can help the troubled heart that festers
Sometimes to be solaced by a jester.

The Merchant:

I admit it would be beneficent
to hear speech which is not so militant
as most public speakers now do proffer
We still have some life, so why so suffer?

Some sage wit seasoned with some levity
might to the road provide some brevity
As I negotiate my sad journey
past so many a grim corpse-filled gurney.

The Innkeeper:

True merchant, I am listening to you
And my custom trade is for healing you
Come then sir, and take thy well deserved rest
bathe now and rise for dinner most refreshed.

Spend a few calm hours in right good cheer
There are those who find it most pleasant here.
Let my servant repair you to your room
The eventide will be upon us soon.

The Merchant:

Thank you then innkeeper, I will repair
Unto your most beneficent kind care.
Then rested, recharged, and ready to go
I will appear for your dinner and show.

