I watched Pride and Prejudice and Zombies last night and was pleasantly impressed and surprised. I have long admired the title of the book, as anyone who has ever made a sincere effort to think up a clever zombie book/movie title would, but never read it. Also I couldn’t remember if I had read the original Jane Austen book. I had, many times, but before  I realized it was “chick-lit”. I had a really misspent youth. I had one sister in particular who amassed literature in amazing quantities, so I’ve read a lot but without the context of doing it for school which helps you remember because you wind up studying the details for a test.

If you read Jane Austen’s book and respected it, you prepare yourself for a sacrilege when you sit down to watch Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but I liked it. It actually was a pretty sincere homage.

So, if you are tired of conventional zombie films, or are just in the mood for a cinematic change of pace, you could do worse than watch this. I Redboxed it for $1.50.

 

 

